Norris wins Bell & Bell V8 championship

-A A +A

By Patsy Thompkins-Keisler
Special to The Beacon
The Bell & Bell Vintage Modified Series finished its regular racing season Oct. 5 at Dublin Motor Speedway.
To no one’s surprise, the fastest qualifier was Cameron Norris III of Sandy Creek. Norris consistently has been the front-runner in the V8 division.
Sherman Garris, of Conway, S.C., was fastest qualifier in the 6-cylinder division.
Norris and Garris had to  start in positions 9 and 10 because of rules regarding a previous race victory.
Father and son Dean and Jeremy Cumbee, both from Supply, led the field of 13 cars to the green as the race began from the inside and outside positions.  
From the drop of the green to the very last lap, it was an exciting race. Kyle Bell, grandson of W.C. Bell was substituting for Gary Abrams in the No. 0 car. Wade Skipper substituted for Harold Floyd in the seat of the No. 38.
Jim Wilmore, of Fayetteville, raced for the first time this year in his No. 45 6-cylinder Mason’s Garage 1937 Ford Sedan. He finished fourth.
Newcomer to the series this year was William Horrell. Horrell’s fans from his hometown of Wilmington and Florence, S.C., where he resides, were prominent in the stands and in the pits. Horrell spun a couple of times in turn one.
He explained what happened: “Ran new rear suspension set-up and was going to go either forward or backward from my previous runs, much to my dismay it was backwards. At least I learned what not to do next time.”
Norris won the V8 race. Dean Cumbee was second and Jeremy Cumbee third.
In the 6-cyclider race, Garris was first, Skipper second and Joey Babson third.
Norris won the V8 championship (140). Jeremy Cumbee was second (126) and Dean Cumbee third (90).
Garris won the 6-cylinder championship (132). Babson was second (128) and Bill Tripp third (72).